Friday, June 18, 2010

Propaganda's A Secret Wish 2CD deluxe edition - full tracklisting

As the releasedate approaches things are getting more and more detailed...

2xCD: SALVOMDCD14 / Element 11

Disc One the dark religions depart...

Dream Within A Dream 09:08
The Murder Of Love 05:13
Jewel 06:23
Duel 04:43
Frozen Faces 04:25
p:Machinery 03:50
Sorry For Laughing 03:27
The Chase 04:05
Dr. Mabuse 10:42

the analogue variations: Dream Within a Dream (08:03)*, Jewel (03:08)*, Duel (04:43)*, p:Machinery (03:50)*, Dr. Mabuse (First Life) (04:57)*, The Last Word (Strength to Dream) (02:59)*

Disc Two ...and sweet science reigns:

Do Well: (i) The First Cut, (ii) Duel, (iii) Jewel (Cut Rough),
(iv) Wonder, (v) Bejewelled 19:55 *
Testament One 01:20 **
die Tausend Augen des Mabuse (Ridge Farm 12" Remix of Mabuse, May 1984) 10:08 **
Sorry for Laughing (Unapologetic 12” Remix, September 1985) 10:00 **
Thought (part i) 02:05
Thought (part ii) 00:30
p:Machinery (out-take 26.04.85, Goodnight 32) 04:11 **
The Chase (out-take 26.04.85, the Goodnight Mix) 03:58 **
(Echo of…) Frozen Faces 10:19
p:Machinery (p:Polish) 09:26
Testament Three 00:20 **

** previously unreleased
* previously unreleased on CD

CD1 total running time: 74:36
CD2 total running time: 72:12

You are wishing upon part eleven in ZTT's 2010 Element Series, previously 13 in the Action Series “through the eternal recurrence of all things.”

A product of Zang Tuum Tumb, the organisation of pop.
Coming next: a phenomenon of megabytes.

...and official!

and ZTT adds some extra butterflies by:

'Announcing... the definitive, deluxe edition of one of the 80s most inspiring albums, Propaganda's A Secret Wish, which celebrates its 25th anniversary this year.

Featuring the hit singles Duel, Dr. Mabuse and p:Machinery and produced by Trevor Horn and Steve Lipson, this is the album that inspired a generation of synthpop, dance and electronica.

This deluxe edition includes the original album plus all of the cassette/vinyl-only mixes on Disc One, complete with guest appearances from David Sylvian, Steve Howe and Glenn Gregory. Disc Two adds a wealth of bonus material including the complete, unexpurgated 20-minute cassette mix of Duel, Trevor Horn's previously unreleased Thousand Eyes... remix of Dr. Mabuse, a works-in-progress version of The Chase, and a previously unreleased 12” remix of Sorry For Laughing by Paul Morley.

Cited as a major inspiration by Depeche Mode's Martin Gore, Propaganda's A Secret Wish continues to send ripples through pop music. Some might know Dr. Mabuse as the first ever video by Anton Corbijn. Others the classic film soundtracks like Luc Besson's Subway (Murder of Love) and John Hughes' Some Kind of Wonderful (Dr. Mabuse). Pop fans might know Duel from the recent cover by Sophie Ellis-Bextor...

However you know it, get to know it again. A Secret Wish is catalogued at 11 in the element series, and is available to pre-order now.'